The Airy Hill Curriculum

The curriculum we teach, fully meets the requirements of the National Curriculum (in some places exceeding this) whilst being carefully tailored to meet the needs of our children and our community.

Please click on the links to read more detail about each curriculum area. 

The National Curriculum

Click here to view the National Curriculum

For all schools in England and Wales there is a statutory National Curriculum. This consists of the core subjects – English, Mathematics and Science – and other subjects known as foundation subjects which are –computing, history, geography, design and technology, art and design, music and physical education (PE). Religious education (RE) is also a required subject. Other subjects make up the whole curriculum, including personal, social, health and citizenship education (PSHCE) and, for older children, French.  

While there are compulsory subjects in the whole school curriculum, parents do have a right to withdraw their children from religious education and from acts of collective worship.


The curriculum, teaching and learning are organised in 3 Key Stages :

The Foundation Stage – Nursery & Reception,  ages 2 – 5

Key Stage 1 (KS1) – includes children in Years 1 and 2, ages 5 – 7

Key Stage 2 (KS2) – includes those children in Years 3 – 6, ages 7 – 11

Statutory assessments are carried out at the end of each Key Stage by means of external tests and teacher assessment.


Follow this link to the Department of Education website.

Click here to contact the school for further information